Checkendon, RG8 0SR
01491 682589


Providing a nurturing enviroment supporting independence, encouraging curiosty, exploration and a love of learning.

Checkendon Pre-School C.I.O is a registered charity managed by a parent led committee of volunteers. The Pre-School has recently transformed to a Charitable Incorporated Association which means, unlike many similar Pre-Schools, committee members are protected from personal financial liability. The committee are accountable to all of the parents for making the preschool the kind of place we want for all of our children.

The parent management committee consists of the officers’ posts (Chair, Treasurer and Secretary) and a number of other committee members. Members are elected each year at the annual general meeting (AGM) and any parent is eligible to join. All committee members are required to complete standard security checks such as EY2 and DBS.

They are responsible for:

* employing and managing the staff

* abiding by the constitution required for the charities committee

* following Ofsted regulations

* managing the preschool’s finances

* ensuring that the preschool has – and works to – policies which help it to provide a high quality service

* making sure that the Preschool works in partnership with the children’s parents.

The responsibilities that go with this can sometimes seem daunting; in a way it is like running a small business. However in addition we have the most valuable qualified staff, who ultimately manage the preschool on a day-to-day basis. The concept of the preschool is that parents are in the best position to make decisions, along with the staff, about their child’s early education and care. Being involved in this process can be very rewarding and is a great contribution to the local community. The committee hold regular meetings once a term and all parents are invited to attend these meetings.

Please feel free to download our committee support package for more details of what the committee do, Thank you.

Meet our Committee


Laura Eden


Hannah Williams


Laura Arlott

Committee members /Trustees

Ali West – Trustee

Hannah Pivonka – Trustee/ Committee Member

Hannah Williams – Trustee/ Treasurer